Skip to main content

Last updated: June 2024

Elections for this year have been closed – congratulations to new LT members Julie Harlin (TAMU) and Mike Reese (JHU), new CNOG members Jen Stanford (Drexel), Jessica Maher (UW-Madison), and Rachel Prunier (UConn), new MOG members Madhumita Joshi (UTSA) and Logan Gin (Brown), and new MPC members Daphne Jones (ASU), Alexandra Bitton-Bailey (UF), and Preston Cumming (CU Boulder). 

We are inviting nominations for open positions on three CIRTL Network committees – the Leadership Team (LT), Cross-Network Operations Group (CNOG), Membership Operations Group (MOG), and Meeting Planning Committee (MPC) – as listed below. All positions are open to self-nomination or nomination by another CIRTL community member. Individuals nominating a colleague should secure the nominee’s permission before submission.

Nominations are due by: Thursday, April 18th, 2024

Please submit nominations using the CIRTL Call for Nominations Form. For detailed descriptions of committee responsibilities, terms, and eligibility, see the appropriate committee description on the Standing Committees page.

Leadership Team (LT), 3 openings

  • (2) Leader or Co-Leader Positions
  • (1) At-large Position

The LT is the decision-making authority in CIRTL as regards policies, using sociocratic processes, and except in such cases as when a policy needs to be decided by the Network as a whole or is delegated to a Standing Committee. The LT advises the Director on operational decisions such as revenue planning, program expenditures, initiatives, network procedures and practices, and implementation of CIRTL policies.

Cross-Network Operations Group (CNOG), 3 openings

The CNOG is charged with overseeing the Cross-Network curriculum offerings to ensure that they reflect the CIRTL Core Ideas and Learning Outcomes, are responsive to Network needs, and embody a diverse and evolving set of formats to provide for future faculty development in teaching and learning across the Network.

Membership Operations Group (MOG), 2 openings

The MOG guides the evolving membership of the CIRTL Network, in concert with the strategic directions of the Network. At regular intervals according to the guidance of the Network, the MOG presents a slate of new Members to the Leadership Team.

Meeting Planning Committee (MPC), 2 openings

The CIRTL Network Meetings Working Group is charged with leading the planning for the semi-annual CIRTL General Meetings and monthly virtual CIRTL Network Meetings (3rd Thursdays). The Group meets once a month for approximately one hour. Additional meetings are scheduled as needed, particularly as the CIRTL General Meetings approach each fall and spring. The group collaborates with the CIRTL Leadership Team and CIRTL Central.

For detailed descriptions of committee responsibilities, terms, and eligibility, see the appropriate committee description on the Standing Committees page.

2024 Committee Elections

  • Wednesday, April 3rd – Nominations open
  • Thursday, April 18th – Nominations close
  • Sunday, April 21th – Candidate materials due
  • Monday, April 22nd – Voting commences
  • Friday, May 3rd – Voting closes
  • Tuesday, August 1st – Term begins

Voting will be conducted using the Simply Voting online election software. Each CIRTL institution will have two votes for each open position. The Institutional Leader and Administrative Co-Leader will each receive an email from “CIRTL Network Elections” that includes an anonymous link to the ballot.

Candidate statements describing their qualifications, experience in CIRTL, and interest in the position will be available via the ballot and emailed in advance of the election. Please take the time needed to discuss your institutional vote with your local CIRTL team and to give each candidate consideration. Here are some details about how to vote within the Simply Voting system:

  1. When you access the ballot through the link in your email, you will see a brief description of the Leadership Team (LT) functions, followed by the list of LT candidates.
  2. Keep scrolling down and you will see the same for the Cross-Network Operations Group (CNOG), Membership Operations Group (MOG), and Meeting Planning Committee (MPC).
  3. You may view a candidate’s statement by clicking “view details” next to their name.
  4. To vote, click the boxes next to your desired candidates for each committee, then click “Continue” at the bottom of the page. The software will then display your selections for you to review.
  5. Click “Confirm” to place your vote, or “Change” to make new selections.
  6. Once you have placed your vote, you should see “Success” on the page and will be able to view and print your voting receipt.

The voting software will send reminders to those individuals who have not yet voted as the deadline for voting approaches. We will not know the results of the election until voting has closed.

Ballots will be sent to these Institutional Leaders and Administrative Co-Leaders. (If a Leader position is empty at the time of the vote, that position will forfeit their right to vote):

Elector #1 Elector #2 Institution
Elizabeth Wentz Arizona State University
Sarah Delaney Logan Gin Brown University
Jasmine Bryant Jennifer Imamura California Institute of Technology
Soulaymane Kachani Abby Schroering Columbia University
Kathryn Boor Colleen McLinn Cornell University
Angela Siegel Jill McSweeney Dalhousie University
Jennifer Stanford Jason Silverman Drexel University
Kimberly Jacob Arriola Cora MacBeth Emory University
David Lawrence Tammy McCoy Georgia Institute of Technology
Dana Williams Kamla Deonauth Howard University
David Daleke Trevor Verrot Indiana University, IUPUI
Elena Cotos Karen Bovenmyer Iowa State University
Michael Reese Kelly Clark Johns Hopkins University
Carol Wicks Fahui Wang Louisiana State University
Rique Campa Kirstin Parkin Michigan State University
Matt Glucksberg Erika Nadile Northwestern University
David Sovic Erin Mercurio The Ohio State University
Stephanie Danette Preston Angela Linse The Pennsylvania State University
Stacey Bent Gloriana Trujillo Stanford University
Fuhui Tong Julie Harlin Texas A&M University
Carmel McNicholas-Bevensee University of Alabama at Birmingham
Gail Burd John Jewett University of Arizona
Elisa Baniassad Brett Gilley University of British Columbia
Danny Mann Alex Bower University of California, Irvine
Susan Ettner Rachel Kennison University of California, Los Angeles
Kirk Ambrose Preston Cumming University of Colorado Boulder
Kent Holsinger Laurie McCarty University of Connecticut
Allen Wysocki Alexandra Bitton-Bailey University of Florida
Sarah Larsen Tashemia Jones University of Houston
Jerry McMurtry Brian Smentkowski University of Idaho
Carmen Lilley Lauren Woods University of Illinois at Chicago
Darren Hoffmann Jennifer Teitle University of Iowa
Christina Cestone Jennifer Aumiller University of Maryland, Baltimore
Janet Rutledge Jamie Gurganus University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Beth Jakob Denise Pope University of Massachusetts Amherst
Jennifer Wood Lisa Rohde University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Beth Mayer-Davis Brian Rybarczyk University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Mary Besterfield-Sacre April Dukes University of Pittsburgh
Robert Jacobsen Ferlin McGaskey University of Tennessee, Knoxville
James Grover Beth Fleener University of Texas at Arlington
Ambika Mathur Heather Shipley University of Texas at San Antonio
Robert Mathieu Jessica Maher University of Wisconsin-Madison
Aimée Surprenant Tiffany Shoop Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Michael Wysession Denise Leonard Washington University in St. Louis
Paula Kavathas Gina Hurley Yale University

If you have questions, please contact CIRTL Central staff through the Helpdesk at