Skip to main content

The Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL) sees graduate education as a strategic leverage point for preparing future STEM faculty, and thereby for advancing STEM undergraduate education in the United States and Canada. CIRTL seeks to prepare future STEM faculty who excel both as researchers and as teachers. The CIRTL Network currently comprises 43 research universities.

We seek graduate-degree-granting universities who play important roles in shaping our national STEM faculties. Important roles might be defined by numbers of STEM PhD’s who go on to faculty positions, or by diversifying the faculty along an array of dimensions. One dimension of priority for the CIRTL Network is preparing future faculty currently underrepresented among STEM faculty.

CIRTL membership is through reviewed applications, in order to assure alignment and readiness for success of members. Key dates for the application process are listed below.

Key 2022 – 2023 Dates

Application Information Session: Tuesday, February 7, 2023 (Register)
2:00 PM Atlantic / 1:00pm Eastern / 12:00pm Central / 11:00 Mountain / 10:00am Pacific

Application Due: Monday, March 13, 2023

Notification of Acceptances: Monday, May 1, 2023

Membership Documents

Materials introducing the CIRTL Network and highlighting some of the opportunities available to STEM doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows in the CIRTL Network are linked below. In addition, the document CIRTL for the Nation: A Membership Plan for Sustained Impact provides details of CIRTL Network operations and finances.

Send inquiries to membership@cirtl.net.

Application Materials

Application for Membership & Rubric (PDF) [also available: Editable MS Word version]

Additional requested materials:

  • Institutional Leader contact information
  • University Official contact information
  • CV/biosketch for CIRTL institutional leaders
  • Completed application (.docx or PDF)

Application Submission Form

Resources

 

CIRTL Membership Committee
Lisa Kelly, Chair
CIRTL Coordinator, Graduate College
University of Iowa
Katie Ingraham Dixie
CIRTL@Program Director,
Assistant Director,  Center for Education Innovation and Learning in the Sciences
University of California Los Angeles
Mabel Ho
Director, Professional Development and Student Engagement
Graduate Studies
Dalhousie University
Katherine Kearns
Assistant Vice Provost for Student Development
University Graduate School
Indiana University
Sarah C. Larsen
Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Professor of Chemistry
University of Houston
Kristin Winet
CIRTL Program Director, Office of Academic Affairs
Lecturer, Department of English
University of Arizona