Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Decode a Troublesome Concept or Skill for Your Learners

February 8 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm CST

Recurring Event Event Series (See All)

This workshop is at capacity and closed for registration as of Thursday, January 19. Registrants are notified of their enrollment status within 2 business days of registration closing. *


This two-part workshop is for anyone who needs to explain a concept or skill to students in any instructional role: an instructor, a guest lecturer, as a teaching assistant or tutor holding office hours. The main deliverable of the workshop is to develop an analogy for a particular concept/skill that will make your learners say “Aha! I truly understand what you mean!” By the end of this workshop, participants will:

  • Identify specific content or skills learners in your field/discipline typically struggle with.
  • Develop an instructional intervention (in the form of an analogy) to communicate the mental actions learners must take in order to successfully navigate their struggle.

Instructors

Larkin Hood & Chris Brua – Pennsylvania State University

Workshop Schedule

This two-session online workshop meets on Wednesday, February 8 and February 15
1-3PM AT/ 12-2PM ET / 11AM-1PM CT / 10AM-12PM MT / 9-11AM PT

Workload

Instructors anticipate students will need to spend 2-4 hours of total asynchronous work time for this workshop.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop has a cap of 20 students. Registration is open from Tuesday, January 10 until capacity is reached or until Friday, January 27, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Practitioner: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Implement one or more evidence-based teaching strategies for students in a learning environment
  • Integrate one or more evidence-based teaching strategies into a teaching plan so as to accomplish learning goals

Details

Date:
February 8
Time:
11:00 am - 1:00 pm
CST
Series:
Event Category: