Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Exploring Careers Outside of Academia with CIRTL Alumni

April 24 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT

REGISTER NOW

More PhDs are employed by the government and companies than universities. Is it just research skills that got them these jobs? Many non-academic organizations rely on a staff that supports education in house, personnel development, or outreach, but teaching preparation may assist with many types of jobs in government and industry. Learn what some of these professions are like and ask questions of CIRTL alumni in the public and private sectors in this online panel event. Panelists will talk about their specific careers, how they got where they’re at, and how these careers build on their interests in STEM and teaching. This is the fourth and final event in our four-part series “Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Event Schedule

This online event meets on Wednesday, April 24 at 2-3pm Atlantic / 1-2pm Eastern / 12-1pm Central / 11am-12pm Mountain / 10-11am Pacific. This is the fourth and final event in our four-part series “Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Audience

This event is designed first and foremost for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in STEM/SBE disciplines exploring potential career paths, but generally relevant to anyone interested in understanding career trajectories within academia and beyond.

Registration

No cap. Registration opens Monday, January 8 and closes Wednesday, April 24.
REGISTER NOW

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,