Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Careers Outside of Higher Education

April 19 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm CDT

REGISTER NOW

Join panelists from various disciplines to discuss their career paths from graduate degree to professional. Panelists will address how they used their degrees and training to prepare them for their current positions and any advice they can give to current graduate students. This is the final event in our eight-part series “The Joyful Journey: Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Scholar Professional Development Series.”

Speakers

Teresa Chapman, Conservation Impact Scientist, The Nature Conservancy
Alaina Beaver, Senior Principal Product Manager, ServiceNow
Brian Buma, Senior Climate Scientist, Environmental Defense Fund, National Geographic Explorer, National Geographic Society

Event Schedule

This online event meets on Friday, April 19 at 5-6pm Atlantic / 4-5pm Eastern / 3-4pm Central / 2-3pm Mountain / 1-2pm Pacific.

Audience

This event is designed for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in STEM/SBE disciplines looking for an introduction to fundamental academic professional development topics.

Registration

No cap. Registration opens Monday, January 8 and closes Friday, April 19.
REGISTER NOW

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways