Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Exploring Non-faculty Careers in Academia with CIRTL Alumni

April 17 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT

REGISTER NOW

People who hold advanced degrees in STEM disciplines serve in many roles across academia – from administration and research support, to teaching centers and advising – where their preparation in teaching as well as their analytical and organizational skills are invaluable. Learn what some of these professions are like and ask questions of CIRTL alumni who work in these roles in this online panel event. Panelists will talk about their specific positions, their pathway to those positions, and the value of remaining connected to academia. This is the third event in our four-part series “Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Event Schedule

This online event meets on Wednesday, April 17 at 2-3pm Atlantic / 1-2pm Eastern / 12-1pm Central / 11am-12pm Mountain / 10-11am Pacific. This is the third event in our four-part series “Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Audience

This event is designed first and foremost for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in STEM/SBE disciplines exploring potential career paths, but generally relevant to anyone interested in understanding career trajectories within academia and beyond.

Registration

No cap. Registration opens Monday, January 8 and closes Wednesday, April 17.
REGISTER NOW

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways

Details

Date:
April 17
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,