Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Communicating to Learn: Incorporating Scientific Communication into STEM Courses

March 14 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm CDT

Many instructors are eager to help students develop critical skills that extend beyond the classroom or the major. This is sometimes explained as teaching students to “think like a scientist” or “think like an engineer”, but how do we actually accomplish this goal? In this workshop, we will highlight the value of “communicating to learn” and show how communication-based assessments and activities can promote critical thinking and foster deeper learning of technical content. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

  • articulate the benefits of using communication-based assessments and activities in STEM courses
  • identify higher-order learning goals in your discipline that can be served by communication-based assessments and activities
  • design a communication-based assessment or activity for your course

REGISTER

Instructor

Rajan Kumar – Stanford University

Workshop Schedule

This one-session online workshop meets on Tuesday, March 14 at 3-4:30 AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT.

Registration

This workshop is open to the public (no cap). Registration opens January 10. You must register in order to attend; you will receive Zoom information upon registration.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic and well-defined, achievable, measurable, and student-centered learning goals.
  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.
  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Practitioner: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Implement one or more evidence-based teaching strategies for students in a learning experience.
  • Integrate one or more evidence-based teaching strategies into a teaching plan so as to accomplish learning goals.

Details

Date:
March 14
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm CDT
Event Category: