Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Mentoring and Advising Relationships: What Skills am I Developing?

March 21 @ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CDT

In this event, participants will identify the roles they play as mentors and advisors and articulate the skills they develop in interpersonal communication, multicultural competence, and active listening.

This session is part of the series “Be Your Own Driver: Imagining Post-PhD Career Versatility”. This series supports graduate students and postdoctoral researchers at all levels to articulate and build upon professional skills acquired within and outside of academic experiences. As this series empowers participants toward the pursuit of liberating and versatile occupation possibilities, we will also resist perceived and received norms of the employment “use” of a graduate degree.

REGISTER

Instructors

Mabel Ho – Dalhousie University
Katie Kearns & Trevor Verrot – Indiana University
April Dukes – University of Pittsburgh

Event Schedule

This online event takes place on Tuesday, March 21 at 2:30-4PM AT / 1:30-3PM ET / 12:30-2PM CT / 11:30AM-1PM MT / 10:30AM-12PM PT. This event is part of the four-part event series “Be Your Own Driver: Imagining Post-PhD Career Versatility.”

Registration

This event is open to the public. Registration opens on January 10. You must register in order to attend; you will receive Zoom information upon registration.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways.

“Be Your Own Driver: Imagining Post-PhD Career Versatility” Series

This event is the first in our four-part event series “Be Your Own Driver: Imagining Post-PhD Career Versatility.” The full series includes the following events:

Details

Date:
March 21
Time:
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Organizers

Dalhousie University
Indiana University
University of Pittsburgh