Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Exploring Teaching Careers at Research Universities with CIRTL Alumni

April 3 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT

REGISTER NOW
Faculty members who primarily teach, rather than do research, have become increasingly important for delivering courses to STEM undergraduates. Learn about the teaching faculty career path and ask questions of CIRTL alumni who are junior teaching faculty in this online panel event. Panelists will discuss the rewards and challenges of these positions, the opportunities for stability and advancement, and how non-tenure line faculty live in a research department. This is the first event in our four-part series “Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Event Schedule

This online event meets on Wednesday, April 3 at 2-3pm Atlantic / 1-2pm Eastern / 12-1pm Central / 11am-12pm Mountain / 10-11am Pacific. This is the first event in our four-part series Exploring Career Paths with CIRTL Alumni.”

Audience

This event is designed first and foremost for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in STEM/SBE disciplines exploring potential career paths, but generally relevant to anyone interested in understanding career trajectories within academia and beyond.

Registration

No cap. Registration opens Monday, January 8 and closes Wednesday, April 3.
REGISTER NOW

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways

Details

Date:
April 3
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,