Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Writing Your Research Statement for the Academic Job Market

April 3 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm CDT

REGISTER NOW

Job postings in higher education often require a research statement as part of the application process. This session will focus on assembling a research statement for academic jobs. We’ll consider the intended audience and analyze examples from recent applicants. This is the sixth event in our eight-part series “The Joyful Journey: Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Scholar Professional Development Series.”

Speakers

Dr. Kenneth Wright, Professor and Graduate Chair, Integrative Physiology, University of Colorado Boulder

Event Schedule

This online event meets on Wednesday, April 3 at 5-6pm Atlantic / 4-5pm Eastern / 3-4pm Central / 2-3pm Mountain / 1-2pm Pacific.

Audience

This event is designed for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers in STEM/SBE disciplines looking for an introduction to fundamental academic professional development topics.

Registration

No cap. Registration opens Monday, January 8 and closes Wednesday, April 3.joyfu
REGISTER NOW

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Professional Development

  • Identify skills and resources that help you navigate different career pathways