Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Recurring Event Event Series: Finding Your Teaching Mentor

Finding Your Teaching Mentor

November 1, 2022 @ 11:30 am - 1:00 pm CDT

In this two-part workshop, participants will start making a teaching development plan. Their plans will take into account their current context as well as align with their personal and professional goals. In session one, participants will learn how to orient themselves in their teaching development pathway and make an inventory of their local teaching resources. They will also develop understanding about why future faculty need a teaching mentor network that includes people different from their research mentors. The second session will help participants make a plan for building their mentoring network around their teaching development goals. We will talk about defining success as a teacher and how to ask for mentorship. We will hear from graduate student and faculty panelists about their teaching mentorship highlights and challenges. We will end our workshop series with time to form peer mentor networks.

By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

  • Understand why you need a teaching mentor network
  • Make an inventory of your local teaching resources
  • Make a teaching development plan based on where you are developmentally and institutionally, and in alignment with your personal and professional goals
  • Get a teaching mentor(s) different from your research advisor

Registration Closed

Workshop Schedule

This two-session online workshop meets on Tuesday, October 25 and November 1
1:30-3PM AT/ 12:30-2PM ET / 11:30AM-1PM CT / 10:30AM-12PM MT / 9:30-11AM PT

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop has a cap of 30 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 9 until capacity is reached or until Friday, October 21, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Details

Date:
November 1, 2022
Time:
11:30 am - 1:00 pm
CDT
Series:
Event Category: