Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Getting Started with Universal Design for Learning

November 9, 2022 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm CDT

We know the one-size-fits-all approach to learning design is not optimal. But how do we incorporate flexibility into teaching and learning while still maintaining rigorous learning? In this workshop, participants will learn the three principles that underpin Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a pedagogical framework backed by neuroscience that fosters motivated, resourceful, and strategic learners. They will have the opportunity to apply these principles to a teaching artifact of their choice, be it a syllabus, assignment, and/or teaching practice. Participants will come away with an expanded understanding of learner variability, how it can be leveraged as an asset in the classroom, and how to make learning more accessible for their students. No previous experience with UDL is necessary. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

  • Identify the 3 main principles of Universal Design for Learning
  • Explain why each principle is important to consider when designing inclusive learning opportunities
  • Critique a proposed learning activity and identify potential barriers to equitable access
  • Propose ways of re-designing a learning community to foster equity by following the principles of UDL

Registration Closed

Workshop Schedule

This two-session online workshop meets on Wednesday, November 2 and November 9 at 2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop has a cap of 75 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 9 until capacity is reached or until Friday, October 28, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)
  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.
  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.

Details

Date:
November 9, 2022
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
CDT
Series:
Event Category: