Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Re-imagining data: Using arts-based methods for new perspectives in research, teaching and learning

March 11 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm CDT

Explore the creative potential of new ways of reading and analyzing text in this two-part workshop on arts-based research (ABR). Through the ABR approach of “poetic inquiry,” participants will learn new methods for reading, assessing, and analyzing journal articles, research, and other written materials in a variety of scientific disciplines. The first session will introduce participants to ABR and teaching methods that support deeper meaning-making, connection, and accessibility. The second session will explore how poetic inquiry and other arts-based methods can be used as teaching tools to support engaging students creatively and imaginatively with course concepts and practices. Participants will design and facilitate an arts-based learning activity between sessions, contributing to a collection of activities shared among participants. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

  • Explore and engage with arts-based methods of teaching and research.
  • Discuss the value of poetic inquiry for synthesizing data, interpretation, meaning making, and presentation.
  • Create found poems from research and/or teaching data using poetic transcription and reflect on the process.
  • Design learning activities for using poetic inquiry in diverse disciplines and contexts.

Instructors

Tamryn McDermott, Ohio State University

Workshop Schedule

This two-session online workshop meets on Mondays, March 11 and March 25 at 1-2:30pm Atlantic / 12-1:30pm Eastern / 11am-12:30pm Central / 10-11:30am Mountain / 9-10:30am Pacific.

Audience

This workshop is designed first and foremost for graduate students in STEM/SBE disciplines, but generally relevant to anyone interested in exploring new methods for reading and analyzing journal articles, research, and other written materials in a variety of scientific disciplines.

Registration and Enrollment

*2/12 update: Registration is at capacity. Registrants will be notified of their enrollment status by Friday, February 16*

This workshop has a cap of 40 students. Registration is open from Monday, February 5, until capacity is reached or until Thursday, March 7, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this workshop, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the workshop to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Using alt-text on images in reading materials
  • Sending pre-session reminders with upcoming assignments to all students
  • Sharing materials for synchronous sessions with students (slides, activity instructions, etc.)
  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Associate: Evidence-based teaching

  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning-through-diversity

  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.