Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Recurring Event Event Series: Research Mentor Training

Research Mentor Training

July 7, 2021 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am CDT

Work with a community of peers to develop and improve your research mentoring skills in this engaging seminar. Students will develop their personal mentoring philosophy, learn how to articulate that philosophy across a variety of disciplines, and refine strategies for dealing with mentoring challenges.

The content of each session in this seminar is designed to address the key concerns and challenges identified by experienced research mentors. In addition to the general content about research mentoring, all of the case studies and some of the discussion questions draw specific attention to issues related to multidisciplinary research mentoring. Seminar topics include:

  • Aligning Expectations and Assessing Competencies
  • Promoting Professional Development
  • Maintaining Effective Communication
  • Fostering Equity and Inclusion in the Research Context
  • Fostering Independence
  • Cultivating Ethical Behavior
  • Articulating a Mentoring Philosophy and Plan

This course is built on the evidenced-based Entering Mentoring curriculum course that is offered by the Center for the Improvement of Mentored Experiences in Research (CIMER). For more information on CIMER, the research base of mentorship, or to request a CIMER training for your institution, visit https://cimerproject.org/.

Registration Closed

Course Schedule

This intensive 5-week course meets online on Wednesdays from June 2 to July 7 at 11AM – 1PM AT / 10AM-12PM ET / 9-11AM CT / 8-10AM MT / 7-9AM PT (no class on June 16).

Workload

Instructors anticipate students will need to spend 1.5-2 hours per week on work outside of class sessions.

Registration & Enrollment

This course is at capacity and registration is closed as of May 21.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing LCs comprising a diverse group of learners.
  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.

Details

Date:
July 7, 2021
Time:
9:00 am - 11:00 am
CDT
Series:
Event Category: