Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Supporting Neurodivergent Students

September 28, 2022 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm CDT

Want to better support your students with neurodiversity? In this workshop, we will review common forms of neurodiversity such as dyslexia, dyspraxia, autism, and ADHD and identify obstacles faced by neurodivergent students in academia. You will be introduced to strategies and resources for supporting these students, and explore ways to implement these strategies through group collaboration. By the end of this workshop, participants will be prepared to:

  • Describe what neurodiversity is and its common forms and experiences.
  • Recognize ways that neurodivergent students may experience difficulties with typical teaching methods.
  • Explain the difference between the medical and social models of disability.
  • Brainstorm new methods for creating inclusive and accessible classes for neurodivergent students.

Registration Closed

Workshop Schedule

This one-session online workshop meets on Wednesday, September 28 at 3-5PM AT / 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop has a cap of 50 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 9 until capacity is reached or until Friday, September 23, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning Community

  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)
  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.
  • Describe several learning-through-diversity (LtD) techniques and strategies.

Details

Date:
September 28, 2022
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm CDT
Event Category: