Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Writing an Effective Teaching Philosophy Statement

September 27, 2022 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm CDT

Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences in this interactive, two-part online workshop. Participants will work to draft and edit a teaching statement, which is often required for US academic job applications. We will discuss elements of teaching statements, evidence of effective teaching tailored for different academic jobs, and strategies to get started or polish existing teaching statements. Participants from all disciplines will become better equipped and prepared to communicate their teaching practice through this workshop’s collaborative, peer-review process.

Registration Closed

Workshop Schedule

This two-session online workshop meets on Tuesday, September 13 and 27 at 12:30-2PM AT / 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30-11AM MT / 8:30-10AM PT.

Workload

Participants will be expected to draft (or revise an existing draft of) a teaching philosophy statement.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop is limited to 50 participants. Registration is open from Monday, August 9 until capacity is reached or until Friday, September 9, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.

Associate: Learning Community

  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.
  • Describe several learning-through-diversity (LtD) techniques and strategies.

Details

Date:
September 27, 2022
Time:
10:30 am - 12:00 pm
CDT
Series:
Event Category: