Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Recurring Event Event Series: The College Classroom

The College Classroom

December 15, 2021 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm CDT

Get an introduction to key learning principles and the basics of effective, evidence-based teaching practices in this course about teaching in the college classroom. This course will focus on developing inclusive, learner-centered approaches to teaching. Students will explore the interconnectedness of learning objectives, assessment, and learning activities through both discussion of course materials and developing and practicing their own lesson plan. In this course, you will:

  • Explore inclusive, learner-centered teaching theories and practices
  • Read and discuss literature on effective teaching and learning, and apply to your teaching practice
  • Create connections between learning objectives, assessments, and learning activities in order to build and teach a lesson plan
  • Reflect on personal teaching values and decision making

Registration Closed

Course Schedule

This 12-week course has weekly online sessions on Wednesdays at 3-4:30PM AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT from September 29 through December 15.

Workload

Your instructors estimate participants will need to spend 1.5-2 hours per week on work outside of class sessions.

Registration and Enrollment

This course is limited to 30 participants. Registration is at capacity and closed as of Tuesday, September 7.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.
  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.
  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Describe several techniques for creating a LC within a learning environment, including strategies that promote positive interdependence between learners so as to accomplish learning goals.
  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing LCs comprising a diverse group of learners.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)
  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Describe a “full-inquiry” cycle.

Practitioner: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Access the literature and existing knowledge to develop a deeper understanding of existing evidence-based knowledge concerning high-impact, evidence-based teaching practices.

Practitioner: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Access the literature and existing knowledge to develop a deeper understanding of diversity and its impact on accomplishing learning goals.

Details

Date:
December 15, 2021
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
CDT
Series:
Event Category: