Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

Change Leadership for Inclusive Teaching and Learning

July 27 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm CDT

This 10-week synchronous online course aims to strengthen undergraduate STEM education by preparing graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and early career-faculty to be change agents in their roles in higher education. Through participation in this course, participants will be equipped with the knowledge and skills to inspire and influence others, analyze their institution’s structure and become agents of change. By the end of this course, participants will:

  • Develop a professional identity as a Change Agent
  • Examine higher education institutions as complex organizations, as well as analyzing leadership approaches and change theories
  • Develop strategies, skills, and abilities appropriate for serving as a Change Agent while holding a position as an early-career faculty member

REGISTration is closed

Instructors

Kelly Clark, Johns Hopkins University
Rachel Kennison, University of California, Los Angeles
L.J. McElravy, University of Nebraska – Lincoln

Course Schedule

This 10-week synchronous course will run on Thursdays from June 1 through August 3, with synchronous sessions taking place at 2-3:30PM AT / 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT.

Workload

Students should plan to spend several hours working through asynchronous materials outside of sessions each week.

Registration & Enrollment

This course has a cap of 40 students.

Registration opens on Monday, May 15, and closes Monday, May 29. This course builds on a foundational understanding of evidence based teaching, and interested participants will need to share their teaching and/or teaching development experience in a brief course application. Instructors will review applications on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

If you have a disability, please let us know your learning needs. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this course, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience.