Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

First Year Faculty Teaching Academy

June 18 @ 8:00 am - July 4 @ 10:00 am CDT

This intensive, 3-week online course is designed for future faculty and early career faculty in their first years of teaching interested in learning how to create a great learning experience for your students while developing a solid foundation of best teaching practices and strategies. By the end of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Plan engaging learning activities that meet your course outcomes and the needs of your students
  • Create an inclusive learning environment for all students
  • Provide timely, action-oriented, and effective feedback to your students
  • Evaluate the usefulness of your assessments to measure learning outcomes

Instructors

Alexandra Bitton-Bailey, University of Florida
Kimberly Heal, University of Florida
Michael Barber, University of Florida

Course Schedule

This 6-session, 3-week course meets online in Zoom on Tuesdays and Thursdays from June 4 through June 20 at 10am-12pm Atlantic / 9-11am Eastern / 8-10am Central / 7-9am Mountain / 6-8am Pacific.

Workload

Students should plan to spend several hours working through asynchronous materials outside of sessions each week.

Registration & Enrollment

** At capacity and closed for registration as of Monday, May 20. **

This course has a cap of 65 students. Registration opens on Monday, May 13 at 1pm Atlantic Time / 12pm Eastern / 11am Central / 10am Mountain / 9am Pacific and closes when capacity is reached. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

If you have access needs, please let us know what they are. Contact Kate Diamond (kdiamond3@wisc.edu), who is supporting this course, to let us know how we can help you have a successful experience. In addition to meeting individualized needs, we will also take measures throughout the course to support accessibility for all our students:

  • Sending reminders with upcoming assignments to all students
  • Sharing materials for synchronous sessions with students via Canvas (slides, breakout group activity instructions, etc.)
  • Enabling live captioning in synchronous sessions
  • Incorporating multiple modes of interaction into synchronous sessions

Learning Outcomes

All CIRTL Network programming is designed to help participants achieve familiarity with our Core Ideas. This workshop is designed around the following learning outcomes.

Associate: Evidence-based teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning goals.
  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.
  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing learning communities comprising a diverse group of learners.
  • Describe several techniques for creating a learning community within a learning environment, including strategies that promote positive interdependence between learners so as to accomplish learning goals.

Details

Start:
June 18 @ 8:00 am CDT
End:
July 4 @ 10:00 am CDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,