Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.
Recurring Event Event Series: Postdoc Teaching Practicum

Postdoc Teaching Practicum

December 8, 2022 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm CDT

Work with an experienced instructor in your discipline to enhance your understanding and experience of teaching a university course in this semester-long mentorship program designed for postdoctoral fellows. In this practicum, postdocs will observe mentors in their teaching, teach guest lectures and receive feedback on your teaching, discuss approaches to teaching with your mentors, and engage in group discussions of teaching with other postdocs from your cohort. The cohort will meet every three weeks for 2-hour workshops around key topics in teaching development; this may include lesson planning, teaching portfolios, equity, diversity, & inclusion, and teaching-as-research. By participating in this practicum, you will learn how to:

  • Create a framework for how a typical university course operates
  • Articulate how teaching and learning theories intersect with the practical requirements of a university course
  • Design university lessons which incorporate learner-centered lesson planning basics, demonstrating the alignment of learning objectives, learning activities and assessment techniques
  • Develop and refine a teaching portfolio using the evidence of teaching effectiveness gathered throughout the internship

Registration Closed

Practicum Schedule

This five-session semester-long practicum meets at 2-4PM AT / 1-3PM ET / 12-2PM CT / 11AM-1PM MT / 10AM-12PM PT on Thursday, September 15, October 6, October 27, November 17, and December 8.

Workload

Participants will need to do most of their work outside of sessions: teaching observations, guest lecturing, etc.

Registration and Enrollment

Registration is open Monday, August 15 through Monday, September 12 or until capacity is reached. Registrants will be directed to an application form, and practicum instructors will determine course acceptance after reviewing applications. Participants must have CIRTL Associate status in order to take this practicum. Note for CIRTL registrants: the application form asks for your UBC Employee Number; you can type “N/A” in this field to complete the form.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Practitioner: Learning Community

  • Integrate one or more LC strategies into a teaching plan so as to accomplish learning goals and learning-through-diversity.
  • Implement one or more LC strategies for students in a learning experience.
  • Contribute to local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Practitioner: Teaching-as-Research

  • Show the integration of Evidence-Based Teaching, Learning Communities and Learning-through-Diversity to accomplish learning goals.
  • Describe how to access the literature and existing knowledge about teaching and learning issues, in a discipline or more broadly.

Details

Date:
December 8, 2022
Time:
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
CDT
Series:
Event Category: