Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Research Mentor Training

January 23 @ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm CST

Recurring Event Event Series (See All)

* This course is at capacity and closed for registration as of Wednesday, January 11. Registrants are notified of their enrollment status within 2 business days of registration closing. *


Work with a community of peers and facilitators to develop and improve your research mentoring skills in this engaging seminar. Students will develop their personal mentoring philosophy, learn how to articulate that philosophy across a variety of disciplines, and refine strategies for dealing with mentoring challenges.

The content of each session in this seminar is designed to address the key concerns and challenges identified by experienced research mentors. In addition to the general content about research mentoring, all of the case studies and some of the discussion questions draw specific attention to issues related to multidisciplinary research mentoring. Seminar topics include:

  • Aligning Expectations and Assessing Competencies
  • Effective Communication
  • Fostering Independence, Self-efficacy, and Professional Development
  • Fostering Equity and Inclusion in a Research Context
  • Conflict Resolution, Feedback, Well-being
  • Articulating a Mentoring Philosophy and Plan

This course is built on the evidenced-based Entering Mentoring curriculum course that is offered by the Center for the Improvement of Mentored Experiences in Research (CIMER). For more information on CIMER, the research base of mentorship, or to request a CIMER training for your institution, visit https://cimerproject.org/.

Instructors

Valerie Fako Miller – University of Illinois at Chicago
Paula Kavathas – Yale University

Course Schedule

This intensive 6-week course meets online on Mondays from January 23 to February 27 at 2:30-4PM AT / 1:30-3PM ET / 12:30-2PM CT / 11:30AM-1PM MT / 10:30AM-12PM PT.

Workload

Instructors anticipate students will need to spend 1.5-2 hours per week on work outside of class sessions.

Registration and Enrollment

This short course has a cap of 20 students. Registration is open from Tuesday, January 10, until capacity is reached or until Wednesday, January 18, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing LCs comprising a diverse group of learners.
  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.

Details

Date:
January 23
Time:
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm
CST
Series:
Event Category: