Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ethical Dilemmas in Inclusive Teaching: Difficult Dynamics in the Lab

December 5, 2022 @ 11:30 am - 1:30 pm CST

Cases that showcase inclusive teaching dilemmas at the university offer the opportunity for many to develop and test their own ways of understanding how they respond to dilemmas in their teaching. In this interactive workshop, come together with fellow future faculty to discuss some problematic group dynamics and cultural differences playing out in a lab course at a large research university. Participants will brainstorm possible solutions and challenge assumptions about potential paths forward that they can bring to their current and future institutions. All are welcome.

Registration Closed

Workshop Schedule

This one-session online workshop meets on Monday, December 5 at 1:30-3:30PM AT / 12:30-2:30PM ET / 11:30AM-1:30PM CT / 10:30AM-12:30PM MT / 9:30-11:30AM PT.

Registration & Enrollment

This workshop has a cap of 25 students. Registration is open from Monday, August 29 until Friday, September 9. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe and recognize the value of learning communities, and how they impact student learning.
  • Describe several techniques and issues of establishing LCs comprising a diverse group of learners.
  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)
  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.

Practitioner: Learning Community

  • Integrate one or more LC strategies into a teaching plan so as to accomplish learning goals and learning-through-diversity.
  • Contribute to local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Practitioner: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Examine and describe own beliefs and biases, including how they may influence their students’ learning.
  • Determine the diverse backgrounds among a group of students, and consider the opportunities and challenges of the findings on each student’s learning.

Details

Date:
December 5, 2022
Time:
11:30 am - 1:30 pm CST
Event Category: