Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Laying the Foundations for a Successful Teaching Career

January 25 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm CST

Recurring Event Event Series (See All)

This course is at capacity and closed for registration as of Thursday, January 12. Registrants are notified of their enrollment status within 2 business days of registration closing. *


This five-session short course explores and builds a foundation of skills and habits to develop teaching approaches that will support a successful teaching career. Development of these skills can start as early as graduate school. This short course includes developing or refining some aspects of your teaching portfolio:

  • Session 1: participants select and “unpack” the teaching approach of a favorite assignment or important learning activity asked of students
  • Session 2: participants will develop an instrument (a rubric) to measure student learning that results from their teaching and learning process
  • Sessions 3 and 4: building upon prior sessions, participants will plan a change to improve their teaching process in a way that aligns with elements of their teaching philosophy
  • Session 5: participants will document their teaching approach for a teaching presentation, or record a teaching demonstration with an accompanying explanation

 

Instructors

Douglas Jerolimov & Richard Turner – Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)

Course Schedule

This 5-week short course meets at 3-4:30PM AT / 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT on Wednesday, January 25, February 8, February 22, March 8, and March 22.

Workload

This course will consist of five 90-minute synchronous sessions occurring once every two weeks, with pre- and post-meeting work. Students will watch 45-minute videos and complete worksheets based on the content in the videos. Participants will also do post-session work in response to feedback from course instructors and peers.

Registration and Enrollment

This short course has a cap of 25 students. Registration is open from Tuesday, January 10, until capacity is reached or until Friday, January 20, whichever comes first. Registration will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis and registrants from CIRTL member institutions or alumni of CIRTL member institutions will receive priority. Once registration closes, all registrants will be notified of their enrollment status.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe and recognize the value of realistic well-defined, achievable, measurable and student-centered learning
    goals.
  • Describe several assessment techniques and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Define and recognize the value of the Teaching-as-Research process, and how it can be used for ongoing enhancement of learning.
  • Describe a “full-inquiry” cycle.
  • Describe how to access the literature and existing knowledge about teaching and learning issues, in a discipline or more broadly.

Professional Development

  • Create materials that are commonplace in the academic job market.

Details

Date:
January 25
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
CST
Series:
Event Category:

Organizer

Indiana University