Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Notion of Critical Race Theory (CRT) Should Not Be a Dirty Word in Higher Education: Unpacking Positionality in STEM Research and Teaching

October 13, 2022 @ 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm CDT

Given our current divisive social and political climate, there is a current need for STEM educators and scholars to critical reflect on their own positionality, the impact of their work with STEM education, and how they perceive issues of justice within the scope of educational change. Critical ideologies associated with STEM research and teaching are fundamental as educational researchers and practitioners further examine notions of diversity, inclusion, and equity, specifically as it pertains to advocating for systematically marginalized populations in STEM educational learning spaces. In addition to an understanding of individual thoughts and feelings related to change, knowledge of the complexity of marginalized groups, organizations, and systems, as well as a commitment to navigating change in diverse and intersecting contexts, critical STEM educational frameworks must remain at the forefront of educational research. As such, it is vital that STEM education become intentional about employing a critical perspective to co-construct narratives that liberate all stakeholders from the system of oppression that they unknowingly grapple with and resist on a daily basis. The counternarratives, in other words, should be the discourse that STEM education utilizes critical race theory tenets design research and pedagogical inquiries that advocates for justice for all students. The aim of this keynote address is to broaden and deepen participant’s understanding of critical frameworks and the impact they can have on shaping the directionality of educational research and teaching in STEM. More specifically, this keynote address will examine how STEM educators and scholars can develop brave spaces within the scope of their work to allow for capturing of various perspectives into their academic spaces.

Registration Closed

Webinar Schedule

This online webinar takes place on Thursday, October 13 at 3-4:15PM AT / 2-3:15PM ET / 1-2:15PM CT / 12-1:15PM MT / 11AM-12:15PM PT.

Registration

This webinar is open to the public. You must register in order to attend; you will receive Zoom information upon registration.

Accessibility

We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.


Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.

Details

Date:
October 13, 2022
Time:
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm CDT
Event Category:

Organizer

CIRTL Network